The Azure Heights Forum

my profile | search | faq | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» The Azure Heights Forum   » Onix Annex   » Arbok's Internet Cafe   » A new approach to PBS

UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: A new approach to PBS
Mewbot
Farting Nudist
Member # 1473

Rate Member
posted 04-23-2001 10:29 PM      Profile for Mewbot     Send New Private Message      Edit/Delete Post  Reply With Quote 
Ok, I am attempting the impossible here. I am trying to create an RBY PBS from scratch...

*dun dun DUUUNNNNNNN!*

Well, it's kind've weird, but I've heard that Blizzard's PBS code is virtually unreadable, and very slow. So, with all of that said, I am trying to create it in VB. There are a couple definites with this-

1. It's gonna be executable. I have no knowledge of languages other than VB, so I can't do the web thingy.

2. It's gonna be a person-to-person connection, a la IP's. It might seem to work best that way.

If I could get any advice or encouragement, just post it right here. It'll help me a lot, since I am no where near as advanced in programming as a lot of people here.

A last thing-I am not doing this for fame, and not for fortune. I am doing this because IMO, I think that PBS as it currently is a bit too slow and buggy for my tastes. And also, cause I want others to enjoy a considerably faster PBS.

Any comments appreciated. Thanks.

------------------
Never underestimate the radish.

Mr. K
Racist
Member # 2

Member Rated:
posted 04-23-2001 10:32 PM      Profile for Mr. K   Author's Homepage   Email Mr. K   Send New Private Message      Edit/Delete Post  Reply With Quote 
NeoSyrex has already done this. If you can get the networking code going, he's already finished a majority of the attack coding.

It's probably worth contacting him before getting in too deep.

From: Cinnabar Island | Registered: Feb 2000  |  IP: Logged
Mick_Hale
Total Moron
Member # 419

Member Rated: