The Azure Heights Forum

my profile | search | faq | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» The Azure Heights Forum   » Onix Annex   » Azure Pokemon Center   » Mewtwo's Cheapness Revisited (Page 1)

UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!  
This topic is comprised of pages: 1  2  3  4  5 

Author Topic: Mewtwo's Cheapness Revisited
White Cat
Nobody knows why I'm an admin.
Member # 42

Member Rated:
posted 06-09-2000 06:41 AM      Profile for White Cat   Author's Homepage   Email White Cat      Edit/Delete Post  Reply With Quote 
I'm not sure which forum is the best one for this subject, but since most of the recent debate on it has been in Arena, I'll post it here.

The main argument I want to address is the one that compares Mewtwo to the Queen in chess, and since everyone gets them, they're perfectly fine to use. However, there are several key flaws in this analogy. A more accurate one would be as follows:

You're playing chess. However, instead of fighting with all your pieces, you need to pick three different ones to battle. Obviously, you're going to pick the Queen as one of them, right? Now pretend that something about the Queen's abilities makes it virtual suicide to use a Rook or a Knight. This leaves the choices of King, Bishop, and Pawn to fill the other two slots. Kinda ruins the point of picking a team, doesn't it?

If Mewtwo is allowed, a three-Pokemon team will almost always consist of a standard Mewtwo, a standard anti-Mewtwo, and a standard anti-anti-Mewtwo. A team with six members is slightly better, but you'll still probably just double the number of anti- and/or anti-anti- Pokemon and only get one reasonably original Pokemon moveset.

People argue that Mewtwo isn't cheap because there are certain ways to beat him. Sorry, that doesn't cut it. When the whole team selection process revolves around Mewtwo strategies, counter-strategies, and counter-counter-strategies, the fun factor becomes a fraction of what it should be.