next oldest topic   next newest topic
» The Azure Heights Forum   » Main Campus   » Sakaki Tower   » New user / myth

UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: New user / myth
Ingmar Funtz
Orangutan Spouse
Member # 2725

Member Rated:
posted 03-26-2002 03:36 PM      Profile for Ingmar Funtz   Email Ingmar Funtz   Send New Private Message      Edit/Delete Post  Reply With Quote 
Yo. New user here. (I'm a user, heh heh...)
Aaanyway... I sent this to one of the maintainers for the myths page a while ago but I never got a reply, so i'm just gonna post it here. I know, I know, it's about catching mew *again*, but please just give it a chance. I've never heard this idea anywhere else, but if it's just old news forgive me.
I thought of a way to catch Mew 'fairly', and no it's not some silly list of chores. When I started playing red, I named my character Mike. Anyway, I went through the game, and then I read about this Missingno thing and when I went to fight it, I also kept running into level 255 Porygons. I mentioned this on some boards and other people said they kept running into one other species of pokemon when looking for Missingno, too (I remember others mentioning Rhyhorn and Golduck.). Eventually I believe we figured which pokemon species you'd keep running into was determined by the name of your character. Since/if your name changes which pokemon you run into, then in theory there should be something you can name yourself that will make the pokemon you run into be Mew. I never looked into this any further and hadn't even thought of using it to catch Mew until today.
Think it could work?

- - - - -
"Ekans used acid!" - This alone justifies training Ekans to level 37.

o/' Some songs are very long
This one's not o/'

From: Deep within the lower intestine of a sperm whale (send help) | Registered: Mar 2002  |  IP: Logged
undone-backwards
Farting Nudist
Member # 197

Member Rated: