The Azure Heights Forum


Post New Topic  New Poll  Post A Reply
my profile | search | faq | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» The Azure Heights Forum   » Main Campus   » Research Lab   » Encore and no PP, what happens?

UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Encore and no PP, what happens?
MK
is somewhat large.
Member # 1445

Member Rated:
posted 10-02-2001 11:48 PM      Profile for MK     Send New Private Message      Edit/Delete Post  Reply With Quote 
Let's say your are using a Tyranitar and your opponent is using a Jumpluff.

Tyranitar uses Crunch.
And this turn Tyranitar uses it's last Crunch. Meaning it's PP for Crunch is now gone and it can't use it anymore...

Jumpluff uses Encore...

NOW what happens.

*Encore fails.

*Encore works and Tyranitar will use Crunch ANYWAY, despite it's PP being gone.

*The Game freezes up.

Any ideas? Thanks...


Registered: Jan 2001  |  IP: Logged
Twinkle
I'm feeling fat and sassy~!
Member # 1690

Member Rated:
posted 10-03-2001 12:11 AM      Profile for Twinkle        Edit/Delete Post  Reply With Quote 
Actually, I think that Tyranitar's Crunch would just fail repeatedly. I once got Spited by a faster pokémon reducing the PP to 0, and the game just said "The move's out of PP!" or something to that effect, and nothing happened.

- - - - -
Hich loch faauto noxlattoyen.

From: Brinstar | Registered: Apr 2001  |  IP: Logged
Continue
Farting Nudist
Member # 31

Member Rated:
posted 10-03-2001 01:35 PM      Profile for Continue   Email Continue   Send New Private Message      Edit/Delete Post  Reply With Quote 
quote:
Originally posted by Twinkle:
Actually, I think that Tyranitar's Crunch would just fail repeatedly. I once got Spited by a faster pokémon reducing the PP to 0, and the game just said "The move's out of PP!" or something to that effect, and nothing happened.

Er, Twinkle, Spite and Encore have fairly different functions. The only similarity is that after they've both finished the opponent will have lost more PP in the move that the opponent just used than they would have intended when they initially selected the move.

As to the original question, running out of PP in a move is one of the ways that an Encore will always end. They won't be constrained to attempt to use a move that they have no PP for. Encore will fail if the move that was last used by the opponent only had 1 PP before executing it.

EDIT: Spelling

[ 10-03-2001: Message edited by: Continue ]


From: Boca Raton, FL | Registered: Feb 2000  |  IP: Logged
MK
is somewhat large.
Member # 1445

Member Rated:
posted 10-03-2001 02:20 PM      Profile for MK     Send New Private Message      Edit/Delete Post  Reply With Quote 
Thanks ƒor the info.

[ 10-03-2001: Message edited by: MK ]


Registered: Jan 2001  |  IP: Logged


All times are ET (US)  
Post New Topic  New Poll  Post A Reply Close Topic    Move Topic    Delete Topic next oldest topic   next newest topic
Printer-friendly view of this topic
Hop To:


Contact Us | Azure Heights Pokémon Laboratory

Š 2000-2016, Maximum Penetration Industries.

Karpe Diem


The views and opinions expressed on this page are strictly those of the author(s). The contents and links have not been reviewed or approved by the University of Miami.