The Azure Heights Forum

my profile | search | faq | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» The Azure Heights Forum   » Main Campus   » Research Lab   » G/S Question/Observation

UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: G/S Question/Observation
DarkSide
Orangutan Spouse
Member # 1892

Member Rated:
posted 07-31-2001 12:32 AM      Profile for DarkSide   Author's Homepage   Email DarkSide   Send New Private Message      Edit/Delete Post  Reply With Quote 
Recently I was attempting to catch the shiny Gyarados at the Lake of Rage (I'm new to Pokemon, so this is my first time through the game). I tried catching, checking approx. IVs then turning the game off and on... after a few tries I realized the IVs seemed to be preset for him.

I noticed something peculiar during this process: my Pokeballs, while usually failing to capture Gyarados, would occasionally cause him to become confused. The effect seemed to only last for one round. I was using Great Balls and Heavy Balls.

My question: is this normal, and has anyone experienced similar effects from Pokeballs? Is it an effect exclusive to Shiny Pokemon, or to Gyarados and certains others? I have never encountered the effect until now.

------------------
DarkSide

"It takes a lot to impress a castle wall."

MK
is somewhat large.
Member # 1445

Member Rated:
posted 07-31-2001 12:39 AM      Profile for MK     Send New Private Message      Edit/Delete Post  Reply With Quote 
DarkSide, what happened was this...

The Gyarados knows Thrash. After using Thrash for a while the user becomes confused. So it wasn't the Poké-Ball that made him/her confused, but hey, it's ok. It wasn't a bad theory.

StealthNinjaScyther
Farting Nudist
Member # 1833

Member Rated:
posted 07-31-2001 03:00 AM      Profile for StealthNinjaScyther   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message      Edit/Delete Post  Reply With Quote 
"...the IVs seemed to be preset for him."