The Azure Heights Forum


Post New Topic  New Poll  Post A Reply
my profile | search | faq | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» The Azure Heights Forum   » Main Campus   » Research Lab   » Let's Lock-On, Rollout, and Miss!

UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Let's Lock-On, Rollout, and Miss!
Meowth346
Farting Nudist
Member # 166

posted 04-07-2001 10:18 AM      Profile for Meowth346   Author's Homepage        Edit/Delete Post  Reply With Quote 
I've seen some talk of Lock-On and how it works with Rollout. So, I put together a little test that anyone can try out to see that Lock-On only works with the first Rollout, and not the 2nd through 5th rolls.

To prepare, catch a Magnemite and a roughly Lv19 Diglett. Make sure that Diglett knows DIG, and raise Magnemite to roughly a level 30 Magneton that knows LOCK-ON. At this time, it should have a higher Speed than Diglett, yet be able to survive 2 DIG attacks.

On Stadium2, in the Free Battle, make sure that Magneton is on your team, and Diglett is on the opponent's. Because I only have one controller, I gave the opponent lv5 Pokémon to fill his team, so that I could easily defeat them until Diglett came out.

Magneton vs Diglett TURN 1
I opened by using LOCK-ON. Then, Diglett used DIG.

Magneton vs Diglett TURN 2
I had Magneton next use ROLLOUT. Diglett was still underground, but LOCK-ON allowed ROLLOUT to hit.
Diglett came up from the ground, hitting Magneton.

Magneton vs Diglett TURN 3
Magneton's ROLLOUT continues, hitting Diglett.
Diglett used DIG.

Magneton vs Diglett TURN 4
Magneton continued using ROLLOUT. ROLLOUT missed.


Thusly, LOCK-ON only effects ROLL-OUT's first hit, and not the next hits afterwards.

--Meowth346

------------------
Researcher in charge of Pokémon Forever, a compilation of about 1/1000th of my work.


Registered: Mar 2000  |  IP: Logged
Nirvana
Farting Nudist
Member # 1211

Member Rated:
posted 04-07-2001 10:30 AM      Profile for Nirvana     Send New Private Message      Edit/Delete Post  Reply With Quote 
Thanks Meowth346 for comfirming what I thought was true. Good Work

------------------
-ŃďrVÄn@


From: United Kingdom. | Registered: Nov 2000  |  IP: Logged
MegaScythe
I am resposible for Grease 2.
Member # 1097

Member Rated:
posted 04-07-2001 11:47 AM      Profile for MegaScythe   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message      Edit/Delete Post  Reply With Quote 
Good work. I guess its back to the old drawing board for my Magneton.

------------------
"I am happy, im feelin glad. I've got sunshine, in a bag.Im useless, but not for long, the future is comin on."-Gorillaz, "Clint Eastwood"


From: ATL | Registered: Oct 2000  |  IP: Logged
White Cat
Nobody knows why I'm an admin.
Member # 42

Member Rated:
posted 04-11-2001 01:04 AM      Profile for White Cat   Author's Homepage   Email White Cat      Edit/Delete Post  Reply With Quote 
Does this apply to G/S Gameboy battles as well?

Also, I recall reading a long time back that Lock-On/Mind Reader only affect the next move you make, but I never got confirmation on it. Is this true?

------------------
"Sometimes politicians prefer to bury their heads in the sand and thereby expose another part of their anatomies for public viewing."
-- Bishop Fred Henry


From: Calgary | Registered: Feb 2000  |  IP: Logged
Meowth346
Farting Nudist
Member # 166

posted 04-11-2001 03:29 AM      Profile for Meowth346   Author's Homepage        Edit/Delete Post  Reply With Quote 
Drats, I released the Magneton just the other day! I'll have to catch a new Magnemite, a new Diglett, and raise them again for testing...

Er, maybe someone else will. I only tested on StadiumGS.

--Meowth346

------------------
Researcher in charge of Pokémon Forever, a compilation of about 1/1000th of my work.


Registered: Mar 2000  |  IP: Logged
Continue
Farting Nudist
Member # 31

Member Rated:
posted 04-11-2001 03:31 PM      Profile for Continue   Email Continue   Send New Private Message      Edit/Delete Post  Reply With Quote 
quote:
Originally posted by White Cat:

Also, I recall reading a long time back that Lock-On/Mind Reader only affect the next move you make, but I never got confirmation on it. Is this true?


I've never performed any testing on Mind Reader, but I can give accurate information for Lock-On.

Lock-On only affects the next move used.

As Meowth has noted here, multi-turn moves are counted as seperate moves for each turn for this effect.

The effects of Lock-On will also "bridge" when pokemon switch. If the using pokemon switches out, the incoming pokemon will receive the benefit on its first attack.

In G/S, the effect will also "bridge" when the opponent switches out. The incoming pokemon will take the hit from a move with now perfect accuracy.

In Stadium 2, the effect will not "bridge" when the opponent switches out unless the switch is accomplished via Baton Pass.


From: Boca Raton, FL | Registered: Feb 2000  |  IP: Logged


All times are ET (US)  
Post New Topic  New Poll  Post A Reply Close Topic    Move Topic    Delete Topic next oldest topic   next newest topic
Printer-friendly view of this topic
Hop To:


Contact Us | Azure Heights Pokémon Laboratory

© 2000-2016, Maximum Penetration Industries.

Karpe Diem


The views and opinions expressed on this page are strictly those of the author(s). The contents and links have not been reviewed or approved by the University of Miami.