This is topic GET DEVO ON TRL! in forum Karp Park at The Azure Heights Forum.


To visit this topic, use this URL:
https://www.math.miami.edu/~jam/azure/forum/buzz/ultimatebb.cgi?ubb=get_topic;f=8;t=008464

Posted by NintendoLover (Member # 3138) on 01-10-2005, 09:39 PM:
 
http://www.mtv.com/onair/trl/vote/ (PLEASE CUT/PASTE THIS LINK SO AS TO ADD TO THE REALISM OF YOUR VOTE--THAT IS DO NOT JUST CLICK THE LINK CUT AND PASTE IT INTO YOUR ADDRESS BAR)



Go there, scroll past all the top 20 shit, and write in a vote for Whip It by Devo, you can make up the personal information. Vote multiple times if you want to. A large forum is attempting to prank MTV by voting Whip It to the top of the charts, and I'm trying to help spread the word. It'll be an awesome sight if it actually works. Also, if you want to further increase the chances of this actually happening (ON TRL TOMORROW 1-11-04) you can phone in your vote.

Here's the information to phone it in:

Call 1-800-DIAL-MTV (800-342-5688) starting at:
4:30pm - 5:00pm (Eastern)
3:30pm - 4:00pm (Central)
2:30pm - 3:00pm (Mountain)
1:30pm - 2:00pm (Pacific)

PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE contribute to this cause.
 
Posted by MewtwoSama (Member # 12) on 01-10-2005, 11:21 PM:
 
remember in the early days of trl and every web community got together and got New Kids on the Block on?
yeah, I didnt care back then either
 
Posted by Boodabonzi (Member # 2958) on 01-11-2005, 10:12 AM:
 
Did this happen? I got on it on SA but I never held out too much hope.
 
Posted by MK (Member # 1445) on 01-11-2005, 08:41 PM:
 
They once got something sad, like Hanson back on the air this way... I will however vote for your Whip It song because it is much more deserving than anything they play on MTV these days...
 
Posted by MK (Member # 1445) on 01-11-2005, 08:48 PM:
 
Ok I voted, in the comment box I put:

The above videos to choose from cannot compare with anything like the videos MTV used to play 15 years ago.

Namely Aerosmith, Van Halen, Devo, etc...

Especially when they played them in their entirety and not chop off the ending because it has been "retired..."
 
Posted by Mr. K (Member # 2) on 01-14-2005, 05:48 PM:
 
So, what happened?
 
Posted by NintendoLover (Member # 3138) on 01-14-2005, 09:54 PM:
 
Didn't work out. I think we severely underestimated the power of millions of idiot pop-music fans.
 


Karpe Diem