This is topic Future Sight does not get STAB =( in forum Research Lab at The Azure Heights Forum.


To visit this topic, use this URL:
https://www.math.miami.edu/~jam/azure/forum/buzz/ultimatebb.cgi?ubb=get_topic;f=1;t=001063

Posted by MK (Member # 1445) on 10-25-2001, 05:56 PM:
 
Ok, we can finally close the book on this one, Future Sight does NOT get STAB, which I think is dumb, and, I’m sure some of you don’t believe me, but, here is how you can prove it for yourselves...

Go play Stadium 2 and go to Earl’s Academy and go to the Library. Go to Pokémon and go look up Mewtwo. Then look at Mewtwo’s moves. When you look at moves like Confusion it says, “These moves are the same type so they get a 1.5 Bonus!” Now select “Future Sight”... the 1.5 message does not appear =(

- - - - -
"It says that it will serve five people, but I am eating it all myself."
 


Posted by Atma (Member # 689) on 10-25-2001, 06:06 PM:
 
You mean the same Stadium2 that shows Dragon Rage as a legal move for Magikarp?
 
Posted by Uiru (Member # 437) on 10-25-2001, 06:09 PM:
 
I do hate to nitpick *pauses as audience titters* but the only way to be sure on something like this is to see it in action. Future Sight is a 'weird' move. I'll test it later.

...Okay, I forgot my N64 was down here. I tried it, and it doesn't get STAB. ;_;
~Uiru

[ 10-25-2001: Message edited by: Uiru ]
 


Posted by MK (Member # 1445) on 10-25-2001, 06:22 PM:
 
Thank you Uiru...

*MK steals all the credit for Uiru's hard work*

j/k, seriously, thanks for confirming my hypothesis...

As for the Dragon Rage Magikarp, maybe there was a Promo Magikarp from Nintendo that knew Dragon Rage, like the Flying Pikachu that was a Japan only deal. Just shark a Pikachu with Fly and the computer doesn't show it in purple

- - - - -
"Read the rules-- no replying to a topic over two weeks old" -Someone enforcing blunderbuss law
 


Posted by Porygone (Member # 805) on 10-26-2001, 08:15 PM:
 
I thought it was already confirmed that Future Sight was "typeless", based on it's inability to be "super-effective" against Fighting/Poison types, and it's ability to hit Dark types, which are immune to Psychic attacks. Because defensively it wouldn't pay attention to the enemy type,I thought we already knew that it would ignore the user's type.

Or were you just trying to confirm this?
 


Posted by MK (Member # 1445) on 10-26-2001, 10:47 PM:
 
Reason for my research ---> [][][][]
 
Posted by Porygone (Member # 805) on 10-27-2001, 01:46 AM:
 
Ah.
 


Karpe Diem