This is topic Is This possible? in forum Research Lab at The Azure Heights Forum.
To visit this topic, use this URL:
Posted by Chibi Gabo (Member # 1978) on 08-07-2001, 11:49 PM:
If say a Smeargle uses Mind Reader or Lock On, the next turn the move is a guaranteed hit right? So what if on the turn of the guranteed hit I(the opponent) were to use Protect or Endure for the 1st time? I belive they have 99.6% accuracy. Would the move hit or miss? Assuming this is Stadium 2 rules.
Posted by MK (Member # 1445) on 08-08-2001, 01:45 AM:
I think someone should test this personally, but, in my intelligent opinion, I think the Protect/Endure would override the Lockon/Future Sight, so, I think the move Smeargle makes would miss.
But, as Stadium tends to do, maybe the game would lock up instead
Posted by Jolt135 (Member # 1974) on 08-08-2001, 08:11 AM:
It would miss. In fact, in the Stadium 2 Quiz, one of the questions is "If the opponent uses LOCK-ON, which move should be used to avoid getting hit?" and the answer is Protect or Detect. However, Protect is strictly better than Detect.
Posted by MK (Member # 1445) on 08-08-2001, 07:24 PM:
What makes Protect better than Detect? Don't they do the same thing? (Except for a possible PP Difference?)
Posted by Random Loser (Member # 1538) on 08-08-2001, 10:43 PM:
quote:That's the only thing I see... 10-5 protect.
Originally posted by MK:
(Except for a possible PP Difference?)
Posted by Jolt135 (Member # 1974) on 08-10-2001, 07:57 AM:
I see it as 16-8, not 10-5. Anyway, there's no reason to use Detect when Protect is usable by anyone (except those nine), and gets double PP.
Posted by Master of Gligar (Member # 2114) on 08-19-2001, 12:43 AM:
Detect loses accuracy points(my word of it) after each time used.
For the other question, if Smeargle used LOCK ON, and the other pokemon used PROTECT/DETECT first next turn, Smeargle's attack would miss. PROTECT and DETECT block any move that causes damage towards them, if its a move like ACID ARMOR or GROWL, it would still have effect.
Posted by White Cat (Member # 42) on 08-21-2001, 03:35 AM:
Protect/Detect cause all offensive moves to miss, whether they cause direct damage or not.
Posted by oporaca (Member # 922) on 08-21-2001, 07:30 PM:
Growl wouldn't work after Protect. The way I see it, moves that only affect the user are guaranteed to work, despite either accuracy changes or Protect/Detect.
For example, because a Transformer is only changing itself into its opponent, it isn't affecting its opponent, and thus Transform can't miss.
Posted by Corruption of Soul (Member # 1178) on 09-10-2001, 05:04 PM:
this might be a silly question that's already been answered, but I don't know where to find my answer. Would Protect/Detect defend against a Future Sight attack on the turn that it would hit?
Posted by Zerot (Member # 1295) on 09-10-2001, 05:33 PM: