MTH 210 Homework Assignments - Spring 2018


Text: Elementary Linear Algebra, 11th Ed. by Anton




Due Date Problems
Thursday, Jan. 25 1.1: 5b, 8b, 10bc, 13ab (also give solution set), 26, True/False: b, d, f, h (Section 1.1 scan)
1.2: 1ef, 2acdg, give the solution set for (3c , 4c, 6, 7, 10, 11), 13, 14, 36, 38, 39, 43 (Section 1.2 scan)
Thursday, Feb. 1 1.3: 3acef, 4abc, 5abde, 6f, 13b, 25, True/False: c, e, g
1.4: 1abd, 2ac, 8, 10, 31, 35, 45, 47, 53, True/False b, d, f, k
Thursday, Feb. 8 1.5: 1, 6, 8, 10a, 11, 19a, 26, 28, 32, True/False a, b, c
Thursday, Feb. 15 1.6: 3, 4, 15, 16, 21, 22 True/False b, d, f, g
1.7: (didn't cover in class; read this on your own) 8, 12, 46, 47, True/False a, b, d, g, i, j, l
Thursday, Feb. 22 2.1: 20ad, 21, 25, 26, 30, 33, True/False e, f, h, i
2.2: Use row reduction to do 12, 14 (ignore instructions), 16, 18, 22, 23, True/False a, b, e, f
Exam 1: Starred Theorems; Pre-exam office hours: Tue., Wed. 3:30-4:30 PM
Thursday, March 1 2.3: 4, 5, 6, 8, 10, 20, 30, 34, 37, 39 True/False c, d, e
Supplementary (page 130): 31, 32, 33
Thursday, March 8 Supplementary (page 130): 34
3.1: 1, 4, 6, 7, 9, 15, 20, 22, 23, True/False d, e
3.2: 2a, 4bd, 5a, 10a
Thursday, March 22 3.2: 12, 18b, 24a, 26, True/False d, e, i, j
3.3: 2, 14b, 16, 32, 33, 38, True/False a, c, g
Thursday, March 29 3.3: 4, 6, 8, 12, 22, 26, 28, True/False d, e, f
3.4: 2, 4, 6, 11
Supplementary (page 181): 12, 13, 14, 16, 20
Additional problems
Thursday, April 5 3.4: 14, 16, 23, 24 True/False a,b, d
Additional: Determine the kind of geometric object the solution set is for the systems of linear equations in Ex. 17, 18, and 20.
Supplementary (page 181): 4, 18
Exam 2: Starred Theorems; Pre-exam office hour: Tue, Wed 3:30 - 4:30 PM
Thursday, April 12 4.1: 2, 4, 5, 7, 8, 12, 18, 21, 22, 28
Thursday, April 19 4.2: 1cd, 2abefg, 3ab, 4ab, 15 abc, True/False a, b, c, e g, h, j; you are not responsible for pp. 195 - 198 (through example 15).
1.8: 2bd, 4, 8, 10, 12a, 14cd, 16, 32a True/False b, e
Thursday, April 26 1.8: 22a, 23, True/False c, d
4.9: 1bc, 3ab, 5b, 7b, 9ac, 11ac, 15, 25, 31
4.10: 1, 5, 7, 9, 11, 33, True/False a, b, c, d
Tuesday, May 8
4.10: Determine whether the matrix operators in the following exercises have inverses and give the inverse for those that have them: 19, 20
5.1: 1, 3; Find the characteristic equation, the eigenvalues, and the corresponding eigenspaces for the matrices in exercises 5, 7, 9
Homework won't be collected
Article: Searching the web with eigenvectors (not required)
Final Exam (cumulative): Tuesday May 8, 2:00 - 4:30 PM; Starred Theorems
Problem session: May 7, 2:00 - 3:00 PM
Finals week office hours: 3:00 - 4:00 PM on May 1 (Tuesday), May 3 (Thursday)