The Azure Heights Forum

my profile | search | faq | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» The Azure Heights Forum   » Onix Annex   » Azure Arena   » White Cat's Boring Canadian Tourny Story

UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: White Cat's Boring Canadian Tourny Story
White Cat
Nobody knows why I'm an admin.
Member # 42

Member Rated:
posted 06-09-2000 06:00 AM      Profile for White Cat   Author's Homepage   Email White Cat      Edit/Delete Post  Reply With Quote 
Okay, this is what happened at the tournament that I attended in Calgary at the South Centre Mall (?) in late March of this year. The team I took was as follows:

Snorlax (Beanbag): Body Slam, Earthquake, Rest, Selfdestruct
(Since there's not much point in having Rest with no other defensive moves, I'll be replacing it with Hyper Beam in the future.)

Starmie (Buzzsaw): Light Screen, Minimize, Recover, Surf

Mewtwo (Catatonic): Substitute, Amnesia, Rest, Thunderbolt

Mewtwo's there because I was rushed for time and he was one of the few high-level Pokemon I had, plus I thought I'd actually be facing challenging opponents.

Now for some griping: All you could do at that tour was win a Boulder Badge (plus the participation one), not a Cascade. Also, there were no "Nintendo Reps" to challenge. One of the workers said that this was because the Canadian tour didn't have the funding that the American one did.

On the other hand, I've gotten the impression that the US tours had the trainers do most of the battling on the Gameboy, with only the Nintendo Rep battles being fought in Stadium. However, in Calgary they had about ten Stadium stations set up for use in all the official matches, plus two whole trailers full of them, each of which had at least 15 Stadium consoles for free playing.