Main   |  Past Seminars   |  Past Organizers


The Graduate Students Seminar aims to be a space to share knowledge in many areas of mathematics. The students are invited to give talks about their current research or any topic they might be interested.

If you have any question regarding this seminar, feel free to contact the organizers Alex Lazar or James McKeown.


Spring 2017

Date

Time

Room

Speaker

Title

Friday 02/03/2017

4:00PM - 5:00PM

UB402

Chris Anderson

An Introduction to the Alexander Invariant and the Alexander Polynomial 

Friday 02/10/2017

5:00PM - 6:00PM

UB402

Hao Kang

On Some Classical Analysis Problems by Baire Category Theorems

Friday 02/17/2017

5:00PM - 6:00PM

UB402

Sam Spiro

Hungarian Combinatorics

Friday 02/24/2017

5:00PM - 6:00PM

UB402

Eric Ling

The Perihelion of Mercury: A story through the minds of Kepler, Newton, Einstein, Hilbert, and Noether

Friday 03/03/2017

5:00PM - 6:00PM

UB402

Jose Samper

A Glimpse of Matroid Theory

Friday 03/10/2017

5:00PM - 6:00PM

UB402

Brittney Ellzey

Walks on edge-weighted graphs

Friday 03/24/2017

5:00PM - 6:00PM

UB402

Moses Koppendrayer

Grid diagrams and arc index of Torus knots

Friday 03/31/2017

5:00PM - 6:00PM

UB402

Jorge Cardona

Set-valued analysis and selection theorems

Friday 04/14/2017

5:00PM - 6:00PM

UB402

Drew Armstrong

Archimedes and the Existence of pi

Friday 04/21/2017

5:00PM - 6:00PM

UB402

Alex Lazar

The Chip-Firing Game