Orlando Alvarez, Professor of Physics with a Secondary Appointment in Mathematics
Ph.D. Physics, 1979, Harvard University
Research Interests: Theoretical Physics (Particle Physics, Quantum Field Theory, String Theory)
Email: alvarez@physics.miami.edu
Office: James L. Knight Physics Building, Room 316
Telephone: 305.284.7127


Drew Armstrong, Associate Professor
Ph.D., 2006, Cornell University
Research Interests: Algebra, Combinatorics, Geometry, Foundations, History of Math
Email: d.armstrong@math.miami.edu
Office: Ungar 437
Telephone: 305.284.2186


Ken Baker, Professor
Ph.D., 2004, University of Texas at Austin
Research Interests: Low Dimensional Topology
Email: k.baker@math.miami.edu
Office: Ungar 407
Telephone: 305.284.2160


Bruno Benedetti, Assistant Professor
Ph.D., 2010, Technical University of Berlin
Research Interests: Discrete Geometry
Email: b.benedetti@math.miami.edu
Office: Ungar 533
Telephone: 305.284.8652


Morgan Brown, Assistant Professor
Ph.D., 2012, University of California, Berkeley
Research Interests: Algebraic Geometry
Email: m.brown@math.miami.edu
Office: Ungar 401
Telephone: 305.284.8653


Ming-Liang Cai, Associate Professor
Ph.D., 1991, University of Pennsylvania
Research Interests: Differential Geometry
Email: m.cai@math.miami.edu
Office: Ungar 512
Telephone: 305.284.2328







Robert Stephen Cantrell, Professor, Chair
Cooper Fellow of the College of Arts and Sciences
Director of the University of Miami Institute for Theoretical and Mathematical Ecology
Top Level Foreign Expert, Renmin University of China 2015-2017
Ph.D., 1981, University of Utah
Research Interests: Mathematical Ecology, Nonlinear Analysis, Partial Differential Equations
Email: r.cantrell@math.miami.edu
Office: Ungar 515C
Telephone: 305.284.2348


Brian Coomes, Associate Professor
Ph.D., 1988, University of Nebraska at Lincoln
Research Interests: Differential Equations, Dynamical Systems
Email: b.coomes@math.miami.edu
Office: Ungar 435
Telephone: 305.284.6987


Chris Cosner, Professor
Cooper Fellow of the College of Arts and Sciences
Ph.D., 1977, University of California at Berkeley

Research Interests: Partial Differential Equations, Mathematical Biology
Email: c.cosner@math.miami.edu
Office: Ungar 417
Telephone: 305.284.3519


Bruno de Oliveira, Associate Professor, Director of Graduate Studies
Ph.D., 1997, Columbia University
Research Interests: Algebraic Geometry
Email: b.deoliveira@math.miami.edu
Office: Ungar 443
Telephone: 305.284.2320


Alexander Dvorsky, Associate Professor, Associate Chair
Director of the Master of Science Program in Mathematical Finance
Ph.D., 1996, UC Berkeley
Research Interests: Representation Theory, Lie Groups
Email: a.dvorsky@math.miami.edu
Office: Ungar 445
Telephone: 305.284.2191


Gregory J. Galloway, Professor
Cooper Fellow of the College of Arts and Sciences
Ph.D., 1976, University of California at San Diego

Research Interests: Differential Geometry, General Relativity
Email: g.galloway@math.miami.edu
Office: Ungar 539
Telephone: 305.284.2338


Benjamin Gammage, IMSA Research Assistant Professor
Email: b.gammage@math.miami.edu
Office: Ungar 531
Telephone: 305.284.2129


Phillip Griffiths, Arts and Sciences Distinguished Scholar
Member of the National Academy of Sciences
Ph.D., 1962, Princeton University
Research Interests: Algebraic and Differential Geometry, Interfaces between Hodge Theory with Representation Theory and Classical Algebraic Geometry
Email: p.griffiths@math.miami.edu
Office: Ungar 514
Telephone: 305.284.2327


Ilie Grigorescu, Associate Professor
Ph.D., 1997, New York University
Research Interests: Probability, PDE
Email: i.grigorescu@math.miami.edu
Office: Ungar 441
Telephone: 305.284.2146


Ting-Hao Hsu, Research Assistant Professor
Ph.D., 2015, The Ohio State University
Research Interests: Differential Equations, Dynamical Systems
Email: t.hsu@math.miami.edu
Office: Ungar 419
Telephone: 305.284.2297


Xi Huo, Assistant Professor
Ph.D., 2014, Vanderbilt University
Research Interests: Mathematical Biology
Email: x.huo@math.miami.edu
Office: Ungar 513
Telephone: 305.284.2166


Shulim Kaliman, Professor
M.S., 1972, Moscow State University
Ph.D., 1979, Krzhyzhanovski Energy Lab, Moscow
Research Interests: Complex Analysis, Algebraic Geometry
Email: s.kaliman@math.miami.edu
Office: Ungar 543
Telephone: 305.284.2195


Lev Kapitanski, Professor
Ph.D. (1981), Dr. Sci. (1991), Steklov Institute of Mathematics, St. Petersburg, Russia
Research Interests: Nonlinear Evolution Equations, Variational Problems with Topological Constraints, Control of Mechanical
Systems, Mathematics of Vision, Mathematical Genetics
Email: l.kapitanski@math.miami.edu
Office: Ungar 413
Telephone: 305.284.2280


Ludmil Katzarkov, Professor
Cooper Fellow of the College of Arts and Sciences
2017 Simons Investigator
Ph.D., 1995, University of Pennsylvania
Research Interests: Algebraic Geometry, Symplectic Geometry, Mathematics of String Theory
Email: l.katzarkov@math.miami.edu
Office: Ungar 405
Telephone: 305.284.2279


Hüseyin Koçak, Professor
Ph.D., 1980, University of California at Santa Cruz
Research Interests: Dynamical Systems, Scientific Computing
Email: h.kocak@math.miami.edu
Office: Ungar 310G
Telephone: 305.284.3138


Maxim Kontsevich, Distinguished Professor
Ph.D., 1992, University of Bonn
Professor, Institut des Hautes Études Scientifiques (I.H.E.S.)
1998 Fields Medal, 2008 Crafoord Prize

Research Interests: Mathematical Physics, Noncommutative Algebra, Algebraic Geometry
Email: m.kontsevich@math.miami.edu


Kyoung-Seog Lee, IMSA Research Assistant Professor
Email: k.lee@math.miami.edu
Office: Ungar 503
Telephone: 305.284.9161


Joaquin Maya Duque, Research Assistant Professor
Ph.D., 2017, Cinvestav
Research Interests: Algebraic and Differential Geometry, Algebraic Topology
Email: j.maya@math.miami.edu
Office: Ungar 547
Telephone: 305.284.3742


Pengzi Miao, Professor
Ph.D., 2003, Stanford University
Research Interests: Differential Geometry, General Relativity
Email: p.miao@math.miami.edu
Office: Ungar 447
Telephone: 305.284.2859


Marvin Mielke, Professor
Ph.D., 1965, Indiana University
Research Interests: Algebraic and Categorical Topology
Email: m.mielke@math.miami.edu
Office: Ungar 545
Telephone: 305.284.2178


Victor C. Pestien, Associate Professor
Ph.D., 1980, University of California at Berkeley
Research Interests: Probability, Optimization
Email: v.pestien@math.miami.edu
Office: Ungar 535
Telephone: 305.284.2168


Subramanian Ramakrishnan, Associate Professor, Director of Undergraduate Studies
Ph.D., 1980, Indian Statistical Institute
Research Interests: Probability, Statistics
Email: s.ramakrishnan@math.miami.edu
Office: Ungar 527
Telephone: 305.284.2156


Shigui Ruan, Professor
Cooper Fellow of the College of Arts and Sciences
Ph.D., 1992, University of Alberta
Research Interests: Differential Equations, Dynamical Systems, Mathematical Biology
Email: s.ruan@math.miami.edu
Office: Ungar 415
Telephone: 305.284.2312


Tokio Sasaki,, IMSA Research Assistant Professor
Email: t.sasaki@math.miami.edu
Office: Ungar 505
Telephone: 305.284.9163


Nikolai Saveliev, Professor
Ph.D., 1995, University of Oklahoma
Research Interests: Low Dimensional Topology, Gauge Theory
Email: n.saveliev@math.miami.edu
Office: Ungar 409
Telephone: 305.284.2418


Christopher Scaduto, Assistant Professor
Ph.D., 2015, University of California, Los Angeles
Research Interests: Low Dimensional Topology, Gauge Theory, Floer Homology
Email: c.scaduto@math.miami.edu
Office: Ungar 525
Telephone: 305.284.1733


Richard P. Stanley, Arts and Sciences Distinguished Scholar
Member of the National Academy of Sciences
Ph.D., 1971, Harvard University

Research Interests: Algebraic Combinatorics
Email: r.stanley@math.miami.edu
Office: Ungar 547
Telephone: 305.284.3742


Nathan Totz, Assistant Professor
Ph.D., 2011, University of Michigan
Research Interests: Partial Differential Equations arising from Fluid Dynamics, Asymptotic Analysis, Dispersive PDEs, PDEs from a Nondeterministic Viewpoint
Email: n.totz@math.miami.edu
Office: Ungar 403
Telephone: 305.284.8648


Michelle Wachs Galloway, Professor
Cooper Fellow of the College of Arts and Sciences
Ph.D., 1977, University of California at San Diego

Research Interests: Algebraic Combinatorics
Email: m.galloway@math.miami.edu
Office: Ungar 537
Telephone: 305.284.2170


Alan Zame, Professor
Ph.D., 1965, University of California at Berkeley
Research Interests: Analysis, Probability
Email: a.zame@math.miami.edu
Office: Ungar 541
Telephone: 305.284.2176