UM Department of Mathematics
Directory
Research
Faculty
Grad Students
Administration

Announcements
McDuff Lecture
McKnight-Zame
FRG Topology
Winter School
EDM
Colloquia
Seminars
Competition
Past Events
Funding

Undergraduate
Degree Reqs
General Reqs
Courses
Placement
Competitions
UMMU

Graduate
Requirements
Ph.D. Timeline
Application
Funding
Applied Math
Courses
Brochure
Seminar

Resources
Software/Books
Math Lab
PC Lab

Links
ITME
Mathematics
Community
































Math Department Faculty
Research Faculty Postdocs & Visitors Lecturers Emeritus

  Research Faculty
  Orlando Alvarez, Professor of Physics with a Secondary Appointment in Mathematics
Ph.D. Physics, 1979, Harvard University
Research Interests: Theoretical Physics (Particle Physics, Quantum Field Theory, String Theory)
Email: alvarez@physics.miami.edu
Office: James L. Knight Physics Building, Room 316
Telephone: 305.284.7127

  Drew Armstrong, Associate Professor
Ph.D., 2006, Cornell University
Research Interests: Algebraic Combinatorics
Email: d.armstrong@math.miami.edu
Office: Ungar 533
Telephone: 305.284.2186

  Ken Baker, Associate Professor
Ph.D., 2004, University of Texas at Austin
Research Interests: Low Dimensional Topology
Email: k.baker@math.miami.edu
Office: Ungar 407
Telephone: 305.284.2160

  Ming-Liang Cai, Associate Professor
Ph.D., 1991, University of Pennsylvania
Research Interests: Differential Geometry
Email: m.cai@math.miami.edu
Office: Ungar 513
Telephone: 305.284.2328

  Robert Stephen Cantrell, Professor
Ph.D., 1981, University of Utah
Research Interests: Mathematical Ecology, Nonlinear Analysis, Partial Differential Equations
Email: r.cantrell@math.miami.edu
Office: Ungar 419
Telephone: 305.284.2297

  Robert Wen-Shaing Chen, Professor
Ph.D., 1974, University of Minnesota
Research Interests: Probability, Statistics, Mathematical Finance
Email: r.chen@math.miami.edu
Office: Ungar 514
Telephone: 305.284.2327

  Brian Coomes, Associate Professor
Ph.D., 1988, University of Nebraska at Lincoln
Research Interests: Differential Equations, Dynamical Systems
Email: b.coomes@math.miami.edu
Office: Ungar 435
Telephone: 305.284.6987

  Chris Cosner, Professor
Ph.D., 1977, University of California at Berkeley
Research Interests: Partial Differential Equations, Mathematical Biology
Email: c.cosner@math.miami.edu
Office: Ungar 417
Telephone: 305.284.3519

  Bruno de Oliveira, Associate Professor
Ph.D., 1997, Columbia University
Research Interests: Algebraic Geometry
Email: b.deoliveira@math.miami.edu
Office: Ungar 401
Telephone: 305.284.2320

  Alexander Dvorsky, Associate Professor
Ph.D., 1996, UC Berkeley
Research Interests: Representation Theory, Lie Groups
Email: a.dvorsky@math.miami.edu
Office: Ungar 503
Telephone: 305.284.2191

  Gregory J. Galloway, Professor
Cooper Fellow of the College of Arts and Sciences
Ph.D., 1976, University of California at San Diego

Research Interests: Differential Geometry, General Relativity
Email: g.galloway@math.miami.edu
Office: Ungar 512
Telephone: 305.284.2338

  Ilie Grigorescu, Associate Professor
Ph.D., 1997, New York University
Research Interests: Probability, PDE
Email: i.grigorescu@math.miami.edu
Office: Ungar 525
Telephone: 305.284.2146

  Valerie Hower, Assistant Professor
Ph.D., 2007, University of Georgia
Research Interests: Genomics, Discrete Mathematical Biology, Probabilistic and Topological Methods in Data Analysis
Email: v.hower@math.miami.edu
Office: Ungar 529
Telephone: 305.284.2166

  Shulim Kaliman, Professor, Director of Graduate Studies
M.S., 1972, Moscow State University
Ph.D., 1979, Krzhyzhanovski Energy Lab, Moscow
Research Interests: Complex Analysis, Algebraic Geometry
Email: s.kaliman@math.miami.edu
Office: Ungar 543
Telephone: 305.284.2195

  Lev Kapitanski, Professor
Ph.D., 1981, Steklov Institute of Mathematics, St. Petersburg, Russia
Dr. Sci., 1991, Steklov Institute of Mathematics, St. Petersburg, Russia

Research Interests: Nonlinear Evolution Equations, Variational Problems with Topological Constraints, Control of Mechanical Systems, Mathematics of Vision, Mathematical Genetics
Email: l.kapitanski@math.miami.edu
Office: Ungar 413
Telephone: 305.284.2280

  Ludmil Katzarkov, Professor
Ph.D., 1995, University of Pennsylvania
Research Interests: Algebraic Geometry, Symplectic Geometry, Mathematics of String Theory
Email: l.katzarkov@math.miami.edu
Office: Ungar 405
Telephone: 305.284.2279

  Hüseyin Koçak, Professor
Ph.D., 1980, University of California at Santa Cruz
Research Interests: Dynamical Systems, Scientific Computing
Email: h.kocak@math.miami.edu
Office: Ungar 443
Telephone: 305.284.3138

  Maxim Kontsevich, Distinguished Professor
Ph.D., 1992, University of Bonn
Professor, Institut des Hautes Études Scientifiques (I.H.E.S.)
1998 Fields Medal, 2008 Crafoord Prize

Research Interests: Mathematical Physics, Noncommutative Algebra, Algebraic Geometry
Email: m.kontsevich@math.miami.edu

  Pengzi Miao, Associate Professor
Ph.D., 2003, Stanford University
Research Interests: Differential Geometry, General Relativity
Email: p.miao@math.miami.edu
Office: Ungar 505
Telephone: 305.284.2859

  Marvin Mielke, Professor
Ph.D., 1965, Indiana University
Research Interests: Algebraic and Categorical Topology
Email: m.mielke@math.miami.edu
Office: Ungar 545
Telephone: 305.284.2178

  Victor C. Pestien, Associate Professor, Interim Chair
Ph.D., 1980, University of California at Berkeley
Research Interests: Probability, Optimization
Email: v.pestien@math.miami.edu
Office: Ungar 515C
Telephone: 305.284.2348

  Subramanian Ramakrishnan, Associate Professor, Director of Undergraduate Studies
Ph.D., 1980, Indian Statistical Institute
Research Interests: Probability, Statistics
Email: s.ramakrishnan@math.miami.edu
Office: Ungar 527
Telephone: 305.284.2156

  Shigui Ruan, Professor
Ph.D., 1992, University of Alberta
Research Interests: Differential Equations, Applied Math, Mathematical Biology
Email: s.ruan@math.miami.edu
Office: Ungar 415
Telephone: 305.284.2312

  Nikolai Saveliev, Professor
Ph.D., 1995, University of Oklahoma
Research Interests: Low Dimensional Topology, Gauge Theory
Email: n.saveliev@math.miami.edu
Office: Ungar 409
Telephone: 305.284.2418

  Richard P. Stanley, Arts and Sciences Distinguished Scholar
Member of the National Academy of Sciences
Ph.D., 1971, Harvard University

Research Interests: Algebraic Combinatorics
Email: r.stanley@math.miami.edu
Office: Ungar 547
Telephone: 305.284.3742

  Michelle Wachs Galloway, Professor
Cooper Fellow of the College of Arts and Sciences
Ph.D., 1977, University of California at San Diego

Research Interests: Algebraic Combinatorics
Email: m.galloway@math.miami.edu
Office: Ungar 537
Telephone: 305.284.2170

  Alan Zame, Professor
Ph.D., 1965, University of California at Berkeley
Research Interests: Analysis, Probability
Email: a.zame@math.miami.edu
Office: Ungar 541
Telephone: 305.284.2176

  Postdocs and Visitors
  Colin Diemer, Postdoctoral Associate
Ph.D., 2010, University of Pennsylvania
Research Interests: Tropical Geometry, Birational Geometry
Email: c.diemer@math.miami.edu
Office: Ungar 531
Telephone: 305.284.2129

  Anton Dochtermann, Visiting Assistant Professor
Ph.D., 2007, University of Washington
Research Interests: Topological and Algebraic Combinatorics, Combinatorial Commutative Algebra
Email: a.dochtermann@math.miami.edu
Office: Ungar 535
Telephone: 305.284.2168

  Shiliang Wu, Visiting Scholar
Ph.D., 2009, Xidian University
Research Interests: Differential Equations, Dynamical Systems
Email: s.wu@math.miami.edu
Office: Ungar 416
Telephone: 305.284.2313

  Yanyu Xiao, Postdoctoral Associate
Ph.D., 2011 University of Western Ontario
Research Interests: Mathematical Biology
Email: y.xiao@math.miami.edu
Office: Ungar 507
Telephone: 305.284.2196

  Yu Yang, Visiting Scholar
Ph.D., 2009, Shanghai Jiao Tong University
Office: Ungar 416
Telephone: 305.284.2313

  Lan Zou, Visiting Scholar
Ph.D., 2010, Sichuan University
Office: Ungar 416
Telephone: 305.284.2313

  Lecturers
  Norma Agras, Lecturer
M.A. Mathematics, 1975, University of Miami
Email: n.agras@math.miami.edu
Office: Ferre 211
Telephone: 305.284.9357

  Rosaura Azofra, Lecturer
M.S., 1993, University of Miami
Email: r.azofra@math.miami.edu
Office: Ungar 423
Telephone: 305.284.2298

  Joy Beverly, Lecturer
Ed.D., Florida International University
Email: j.beverly@math.miami.edu
Office: Ferre 205
Telephone: 305.284.9160

  Patrick Bibby, Lecturer
Ph.D., University of Florida
Email: p.bibby@math.miami.edu
Office: Ungar 425
Telephone: 305.284.2199

  Anna Bystrik, Lecturer
Ph.D. Physics, 1998, University of North Texas
Email: a.bystrik@math.miami.edu
Office: Ungar 423
Telephone: 305.284.2298

  Mirza F. Collazo, M.A., Part-time Lecturer
Email: m.collazo@math.miami.edu
Office: Ferre 203
Telephone: 305.284.9161

  Jorge Cuellar, M.S., Part-time Lecturer
Email: j.cuellar@math.miami.edu
Office: Ferre 201
Telephone: 305.284.9163

  Alvio Dominguez, Ph.D., Part-time Lecturer
Email: a.dominguez@math.miami.edu
Office: Ferre 213
Telephone: 305.284.9356

  Liliana Draghici, Lecturer
Ph.D. Statistics, 2000, Michigan State University
Email: l.draghici@math.miami.edu
Office: Ferre 203
Telephone: 305.284.9161

  Marta Alpar Flothmann, Lecturer
Ph.D., 2012, University of Miami
Email: m.flothmann@math.miami.edu
Office: Ferre 201
Telephone: 305.284.9163

  Jacques-Olcy Francois, M.A., Part-time Lecturer
Email: j.francois@math.miami.edu
Office: Ferre 205
Telephone: 305.284.9160

  Nadia Gal, Lecturer
Ph.D. Mathematics, 2007, University of Memphis
Email: n.gal@math.miami.edu
Office: Ferre 213
Telephone: 305.284.9356

  Sergio Hernandez, Lecturer
M.A. Mathematics, 2008, University of Miami
Email: s.hernandez@math.miami.edu
Office: Ungar 501
Telephone: 305.284.2724

  Adriana Matas, M.A., Part-time Lecturer
Email: a.matas@math.miami.edu
Office: Ferre 211
Telephone: 305.284.9357

  Leticia Oropesa, Lecturer
D.A., 1993, University of Miami
Email: l.oropesa@math.miami.edu
Office: Ungar 515F
Telephone: 305.284.2116

  Oneida Perez, Lecturer
M.A., Mathematics, University of Miami
Email: o.perez@math.miami.edu
Office: Ungar 501
Telephone: 305.284.2724

  Monique Rosenberg, Lecturer
M.S. Mathematics, 1992, University of Miami
Email: m.rosenberg@math.miami.edu
Office: Ungar 421
Telephone: 305.284.2292

  Patricia Rua, Lecturer
M.A. Mathematics, 1992, University of Miami
Email: p.rua@math.miami.edu
Office: Ungar 425
Telephone: 305.284.2199

  Emeritus Faculty
  Edwin Hale Connell, Professor Emeritus
Ph.D, 1958, Stanford University
Research Interests: Algebra, Topology
Email: e.connell@math.miami.edu
Office: Ungar 543
Telephone: 305.284.2177

  David Hertzig, Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., 1957, University of Chicago
Research Interests: Algebra
Email: d.hertzig@math.miami.edu
Office: Ungar 515
Telephone: 305.284.2575

  Alan Lazer, Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., 1964, Carnegie Mellon University
Research Interests: Differential Equations, Nonlinear Analysis
Email: a.lazer@math.miami.edu
Office: Ungar 515
Telephone: 305.284.2575

  Paul McDougle, Associate Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., 1958, University of Virginia
Research Interests: General Topology
Email: p.mcdougle@math.miami.edu
Office: Ungar 515
Telephone: 305.284.2177




© 2000-2014, University of Miami Department of Mathematics.
Department email: math@math.miami.edu
Webmaster email: webmaster@math.miami.edu
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -